Famous Women of Films Week

I believe the week is over, but I thought I’d do this just for fun anyways! Meggy from Magic, Ink and Dreams  tagged me, be sure to check out her awesome blog!

1. What was the first “old movie” that you can remember watching?

Probably Mary Poppins… It’s been a classic for me for as long as I can remember. I might have watched other old movies before it, but this one just stayed in my mind and I’ve watched it a million times since then!

2. Out of the Famous Women mentioned this week, who is your favorite singer?

Julie Andrews. She has a beautiful and feminine voice…. Although I might be biased because of the songs she sings… I mean, really, who could not resist the voice behind Do-Re-Mi and The Hills Are Alive?? …or maybe it’s just me 😉

3. Out of the Famous Women mentioned this week, who is your favorite dancer?

Okay, well, this is a hard one because actually I don’t watch very many old movies- and, to be quite honest, I don’t know half of these women. And half of the ones I do know, I don’t remember, since I watched a lot of these movies a long time ago. Although, yes, I have been getting more into the oldies lately (a few months ago at the peak of my “obsession” I finally rented Singing in the Rain and got my whole family to watch it) but I generally listen to old songs (Frank Sinatra, Bing Crosby, etc) rather than watch old movies. Also, a lot of the oldies are not in my library, and I rarely watch movies on youtube, and like I said in my earlier post today, I’ve also been extremely busy lately.

But I’m sure all of you dear readers who have a true love for the oldies must have smirked at me, when I called it an “obsession,” considering… *cough cough* I don’t know who… Vera Ellen is… *ducks sharp objects flying in the air*

Well, I’ve heard the name, but I’m not really familiar with anything about her other than her name…

4. Out of the Famous Women mentioned this week, who is your favorite actress?

Julie Andrews, all the way! Although Jane Powell is pretty awesome, too. As is Debbie Reynolds.

5. What is your favorite “old movie”? Why?

Ohh, this is a tough one! I’d have to say “The Sound of Music.”

6. Who is your utmost favorite Famous Woman of Films Week? Why?

Julie Andrews. She’s elegant, graceful, and has a to die-for accent. Even in her older years, she has an irresistible grace about her.

7. Do you watch a lot of “old movies” starring many of these Famous Women or do you have different tastes? If so, please share your interests!

I would love to have a more thorough knowledge of these Famous Women, but mostly I watch more modern movies. I do want to watch more oldies, though! My new summer goal: watching at least 5 old movies that I have never seen before!

8. Were you introduced to any new actresses by Famous Women of Films Week? If so, which one(s)?

Umm, I have quite a list of Women of Film I’ve never heard of before: Ann Reinking, Ann Miller, Betty Hutton, Cyd Charisse, and Ginger Rogers.

Since it’s over, this is just for fun, so I’m not tagging anyone.

Ad maiorem Dei gloriam!

Have a blessed day!

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogging

Leave a Reply

