The Three Musketeers

I went to see the newest version of The Three Musketeers in, um, well, November. I know, I know, this post is somewhat late…. Blame it on my procrastination skills!

 Anyways, I had been looking forward to this movie for about a year!! Don’t ask me why I was so excited about it, because I had never read the book and about all I knew of the storyline was that it was about three musketeers who liked to cry, “ONE FOR ALL, AND ALL FOR ONE!” I think it was the swashbuckling that attracted me. Yes, I’m quite big on sword fighting. A good swordfight is a must. A requirement, a necessity, a crucial critically pivotal element… okay, I’ll stop. You get the idea. I do love a nice, satisfying swordfight.

And just last month, for reading club, I actually read the 600-page book, so now I’m able to compare the two.

The movie made a lot (and I mean A LOT) of deviations from the book. Some were for the better. For example, this was the first time I’ve watched a movie that is way more appropriate than the book it is based upon. They pretty much cut out all the inappropriate scenes, for which I was extremely grateful. (However, be warned, there is one scene where the villainness undresses on the rooftop- but she does leave on her underclothes, which in those days were more modest than some outer clothing girls wear nowadays…)

 First let me say the cast was superb. After watching Pride and Prejudice 2005, I was eager to see how Matthew Macfadyen would do for the role of Athos. And I wasn’t disappointed. He is alluring in his mysterious, quiet way, a real fatherly figure to D’Artagnan. The leader of the Three Musketeers, the rest of which consist of Porthos and Aramis, and later on D’Artagnan joining as the fourth addition, Athos has a lot on his mind. His friends try to figure out his unknown past- a past that carries a deep, dark secret…

(BTW, since it’s been a while since I’ve seen the movie, I might be getting some of it mixed up with the book. So if you’ve seen the movie already and my post is confusing you, because you don’t remember this or that part in the film, it’s all my fault, sorry!)

 D’Artagnan is played by Logan Lerman (Percy Jackson: The Lightning Thief) Definitely the kind of guy girls like to swoon over. At least that was my experience. Throughout the 45 minute drive home from the cinema that had shown the film, all I could hear from the backseat was the squeals and dreamy sighs of my sister and her friend.

Wasn’t he wonderful?

*insert dreamy sigh*

Ohh, and he was sooo brave…

*sigh*

Yes, and very handsome!

*squeal*

He’s definitely brave, alright. He’s also rash and reckless. But he’s admirable most of the time, and even though I was bothered a few times in the book by D’Artagnan’s stupidity, in the movie I found it easy to sympathize with our 19- year old hero.

Now, I’m too lazy to include the pictures of all the characters in this movie, so let’s go straight to the villains.

I was really excited to see Orlando Bloom playing a bad guy, the Duke of Buckingham. On one hand I felt bad, because he had always been special to me as Legolas from The Lord of the Rings trilogy, but on the other hand, I had gotten tired of the numerous sequels of  Pirates of the Caribbean (loved the first one, liked the second, hated the third… haven’t seen the fourth), and so I thought it would be interesting to see Bloom playing a villain. He actually made a really great villain, the features of his face and his voice suited the role well. Only weird thing is, that in the book, Buckingham is portrayed as a good guy, whereas in this movie they totally made him into a villain!

 Milady was a character whom I would describe as “deliciously evil.” Probably my favourite villain of all time, other than Chauvelin from The Scarlet Pimpernel. She’s just so clever and conniving and wicked…

I would probably recommend this movie for 13+

Rated PG-13

Oh, and of course it is but natural that I include a scene from my favourite swordfight:

Hopelessly outnumbered, and still the Musketeers conquer!

Sweet Constance

 (in the book she is 7 years older than D’Artagnan and married… thankfully they made things less awkward in the movie)

ALL FOR ONE!

AND ONE FOR ALL!!!

1 Comment

Filed under Movies

One response to “The Three Musketeers

  1. Interesting! At the time, I wrote it off, but it sounds like something I might want to watch sometime.

Leave a Reply

