NaNoWriMo: Naming Your Characters

Every time I start writing a story, I always get inspired by ideas for characters rather than plot. The reason for my story is to bring these endearing (at least to me) characters to life, and I rarely have much of an idea of where the plot is going to go. So right now, for my story, I have some great characters, but they need names. I always have the most trouble naming the main heroine. She is 15-17 years old, shy and quiet, dreamy, and loves to read and write stories. Since I’m writing a fantasy, she needs to have a name that is romantic and fits in in a fairy tale world. But it also needs to sound normal, everyday-ish, since she comes from our world. I’m having a hard time finding a name that is modern, but not too much so; not overly popular; and romantic at the same time. Any ideas? They’d be much appreciated!!

How about you? Do you find it easy to come up with the perfect names? Or do you have to first fully develop your character before you can match him with a name? Do you use real names or make up your own?

2 Comments

Filed under Writing

2 responses to “NaNoWriMo: Naming Your Characters

  1. Rebecca, Samantha, Sarah, Abby or Abigail, Addison, Alicia or Eileen, Ashley, Brandi, Cate, Danielle, Gwen, Jacqueline, Katie….

    I don’t know what you qualify as romantic, so let me recommend this site to you, if you don’t have if blocked: http://www.behindthename.com/

    • Elestyn

      Those are some great names! For now I’m going to call her Rebecca but I really like Gwen and Cate too! And the site is really helpful. I’ve already found names for some of my other characters from there! Thank you! 😀

Leave a Reply

