A Bibliophile Goes Shopping

I went shopping today at a used item store. Of course, after I looked at the clothes, I went over to browse through the book section. AND THEY HAD AN ENTIRE SET OF JANE AUSTEN!!! and Jane Eyre. and Phatom of the Opera. Cyrano de Bergerac. Shakespeare’s plays. THREE Pride and Prejudice’s. And they were so cheap! I desperately wanted to buy them.

But there’s no more room on my bookshelves. *sigh*

When I couldn’t fit books vertically on the shelves anymore, I started putting them on top of each other. Then I put some of my books in a box under the bed. And then they started appearing everywhere; on the windowsill, on every little stand or table, on chairs, etc.

Yep, they were just about everywhere.

At least Cicero should be proud of me. He did say “A room without books is like a body without a soul.” (one of my favourite quotes, by the way)

Okay, so I admit, I really couldn’t resist those books at the store. In the end, I ended up buying  “A Man For All Seasons” and “Brideshead Revisited”. They are now proudly occupying the dining room shelves. Despite the fact that those shelves are already overflowing.

Ahh, the life of a bibliophile.

1 Comment

Filed under books, Jane Austen

One response to “A Bibliophile Goes Shopping

  1. Pingback: Invisible Bookshelves! | Soaring High

Leave a Reply

