Jane Eyre 2011 Review

Yes, I have finally gotten about to writing up a trailer for the new Jane Eyre movie!!! (well, maybe not so new by now. . .but anyways. . .) If  you’d like to know more about what I thought about the book, see my post titled “Jane Eyre”, but here I’m going to focus mainly on the characters. They’re always the most fun to write about, in my opinion!

First off, Jane Eyre herself, of course. Mia Wasikowska played her quite well. I loved how she really looks 18 like she’s supposed to be, and she’s also very cute and likable. She has all Jane’s depth and her personality comes across perfectly. She is wonderful with Michael Fassbender as Mr. Rochester; they match each other very well.

At first, I was a bit disappointed with Edward Rochester in the first scene he was in. I didn’t think he looked right, after watching Toby Stevens’ portrayal. But as the film went on, I must say that it he is closer to the book Rochester than Stevens. Maybe not as good-looking, though. Hehe. But Mr. Rochester isn’t supposed to be handsome anyway. Micheal Fassbender is a great actor and plays the part wonderfully.

Mrs. Fairfax. Well, it’s been a while since I’ve seen the movie so I don’t remember what exactly I meant to say about her. . . I know I liked her; she looked pretty much like I imagined her in the book. She has a motherly instinct towards Jane and her appearance seemed to match that. The only scene with her that I didn’t like was when Jane returns to Thornfield when it is in ruins and Mrs. Fairfax suddenly appears there out of nowhere! It just didn’t seem right to substitute the shepherd with her instead, and I got really worried that there might be some other, major, alterations towards the end of the movie. But fortunately, there weren’t.

St. John Rivers was much better than in the other Jane Eyre that I’ve watched (2006 BBC miniseries). For some incomprehensible reason, he reminds me of Mr. Tumnus. LOL. Let me just say, I LOVED him in this movie. Well, not literally. I mean, really, why can’t he truly love? All he thinks about is his missionary work, but really there’s so much more to being a Christian than evangelizing pagans. It’s a pity he can’t learn about real love, even when he’s surrounded by those who constantly show him the meaning of that word in their lives.

Adele was also so much closer to the book than in the other JE movie I saw. There she seemed exaggerated, an absolutely intolerable brat, but here she’s still spoiled, but at least she’s normal. She’s actually likeable, and it’s much easier to see how Jane could become attached to her. Not to mention, she’s really sweet and cute.

  I really, really love Mia Wasikowska and Michael Fassbender together, like I’ve already said before. Despite the age differences (when reading the book, I had trouble picturing Jane falling in love with a man at least 20 years her senior, even though I know that in those times everyone got married with much larger age gaps. I’m not saying that’s a bad thing- but 20 years?? However, in the movie they were absolutely lovely together.) they really are PERFECT!

I’m dreadfully disappointed that they left out the lines where, when Mr. Rochester tells Jane that she must return to him from her visit to her dying Aunt Reed. I mean, he did say that, but they left out the part where after he gives her the money and then takes back part of it (thus owing her part of her governess’ wages) he says that it is to ensure that she comes back. And it’s so sweet when he says that! I wish they included it! And they skipped the scene with the gypsy fortune-teller (Mr. Rochester in disguise)! Also, the part when Bertha tears Jane’s wedding veil, and Mr. Rochester is so concerned about her safety. That scene had a lot of significance and should have been included.

Despite a couple disappointments here and there, I can sincerely say that I loved this movie!!

 Let me just say that if you haven’t seen it yet, YOU SHOULD!!!

  (I’d recommend it for ages 12 or 13 and up, due to violence, blood, and some creepiness.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Jane Eyre, Movies

Leave a Reply

